Prometheus: The Complete Fire and Stone by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Paul Tobin

4 Stars

I really enjoyed this collection. I’ve never really had an interest in the films Alien or Predator or Alien vs. Predator (my only previous exposure to these storylines being these movie’s trailers), but the story and artwork represented in this collection were very compelling. I found the plot to have an internal logical consistency and found the “flashbacks” and the overall arc of the narrative to be engaging enough that I could not put it down!  I loved the characters and the connections between the different parts, particularly the storyline of Galgo. I found the philosophy, conflicting moralities, and critical engagement to be a pleasant surprise. And the artwork, the artwork is gorgeous, beautifully crafted!
In short, this was a really great read, with one caveat. Reading this kind of story electronically was a little problematic. Some of the spreads went across two pages and it was not always clear that that was the case until the “page” had turned (my reader only showed one PDF page at a time). Perhaps there is a better app for reading graphics (I do have a comic reader app, but it is built for comic files not PDF files), but I would also like to see a PDF that has spreads for the story boards that cross two pages, as well as the single pages.

Published November 3rd 2015 by Dark Horse Books

Amazon.com

Amazon.ca

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

